Whole Lotta Nothing

It’s been awhile since I’ve graced the blogiverse with my succinct wisdom. What have I been doing besides watching old episodes of Hill Street Blues and Homicide: Life on the Streets, you ask?

Back in November I had the opportunity to interview one of my musical heroes, David J, for The Vinyl District. Check it out here.

I have two different film soundtrack projects scheduled for this year. One is a short horror film directed by Ryan Stockstad, and the other is a documentary by noted artist Alexandra Grant. I’ll presumably be scoring the horror film on my own. The documentary will be a collaboration between Caleb Seavey and myself.

Meanwhile, Caleb and I have almost finished our second album as Pirate Planet. It’s a collection of songs inspired by Krautrock, shoegaze, space rock, power pop, ghost stories, and family life. It will most likely be ready for prime time this summer.

I also finished a project that has been on the back burner for quite a while. This is a collection of songs that I wrote and recorded on 4-track cassette mostly between 1993-94. I recorded the tapes into the computer a couple years ago and did some digital magic, re-recording vocals and adding extra things where it seemed appropriate. Most of the lyrics are embarrassing to me now, but they are a fairly accurate picture of how ridiculous I was in my early 20s.

Sadly, Jess Franco muse and Eurotrash queen Lina Romay has passed away. She was off the charts in many ways, and an early influence on my libido. R.I.P. Lina!

Leave a Reply

