Out There In The Dark

Holy crap, it’s been awhile. I’ve been busy…yeah, that’s it.

Some music things on the horizon, but I’ll wait until I can actually post some of that before I start talking it up.

I’ve been geeking out on old horror paperback covers lately. Here’s a great blog devoted to such things called Too Much Horror Fiction. As if there could ever be too much! The Trash Collector also has some great covers, and there’s even more lurid madness over at The Groovy Age of Horror.

We’ve also been gearing up for some serious Halloween horror fun. Which will generally consist of sitting around watching horror movies. We’re working our way through a great collection of Mexican B-movies called Crypt of Terror – Horror from South of the Border, Vol. 1.

It’s on Netflix, but at $10 a pop I think we will be adding this to the collection soon. The films lack the artistic style of their Italian and Spanish contemporaries, having more in common with budget offerings from the U.S. at the time (mostly the 1980s). Not to worry: they make up for it with copious amounts of blood, fun special effects, incongruous American fashions, and out of control female eyebrows. Our favorites so far are Cemeterio Del Terror and The Grave Robbers.

Finally, one of my favorite bands has a new record out, and it’s great. If you enjoy rock music, treat yourself to some Outrageous Cherry. It’s like John Lennon jamming with Moe Tucker in a psychedelic space warp!

12 Responses to “Out There In The Dark”

  1. Guess you have been gone a while there, Ryan. Yeah, I’m back from my bizarre mid-life crisis and that clusterfuck of a situation at AV. About a couple weeks after I suddenly discovered I missed my DVD NEWS WATCH, and so went about reconstructing the whole thing from memory. Think I did pretty good. It’s now DVD NEWS FLASH, and here’s the address: http://dvdnewsflash.wordpress.com/.

    Stop by and have a look around.

    Take care.

  2. Wow, thanks for the shout-out!

    • No problem! Actually I went to a used bookstore last night and browsed through all their horror paperbacks. 50% of them were about demonic babies or killer kids. 25% were about women being seduced by demons or vampires of some kind. The other 25 were mostly ripoffs of specific Stephen King novels. Some great covers in there…

  3. I just realized what you were talking about. When I originally replied I was just replying to your reply and didn’t pay much attention to your post. I did, though, vaguely acknowledge that cover you got posted and thought, “Hey, that book looks a lot like those books I got on my bookshelf, the ones I “fed myself” when I was a teen, and a little bit into my early twenties.

    And, then I noticed your most recent reply, and, thought, “Shit, I think I gotta read that post.” My next thought was, “So, Ryan’s just discovering those books!” Those covers are what sold me, and for a majority of them, the stories kick ass, too.

    Keep that “addiction” up, Ryan. I support it whole heartedly.

    • Awesome. Although I wouldn’t say I’m just discovering these books. I worked in bookstores and hung out in libraries a lot growing up, and always gravitated to the horror section. With that said, I haven’t actually read that much horror, besides King and Lovecraft. So if you have any recommendations, let me know.

  4. Let me go through my shelf and make a list. Get back to you soon.

  5. Here it is. I’m gonna pick three standouts you should read first. Here they are: INCUBUS, ANCIENTS and THE MANIPULATOR. That last one has got a fantastic cover. Seek it out. I noticed you’re a Lovecraft fan. Didn’t know that. Welcome, brother! ANCIENTS reads like a Lovecraft novel. it will definitely leave a mark on your psyche. Actually. so will INCUBUS, which has an equally fantastic cover. There are two versions of that one. The one you want is the cover with the woman’s face.

    INCUBUS BY RAY RUSSELL
    WURM BY MATTHEW J. COSTELLO
    SAURIAN BY WILLIAM SCHOELL
    MANTIS BY K.W. JETER
    DOOMSTALKER BY GARY BRANDNER
    PHANTOM BY THOMAS TESSIER
    DOPPELGANGER BY ERIC HIGGS
    IT’S LOOSE BY WARNER LEE
    DEMONS’S EYE BY STEPHEN GRESHAM
    FEAR BY R. PATRICK GATES
    DARKER THAN YOU THINK BY JACK WILLIAMSON
    NIGHT, WINTER AND DEATH BY LEE HAWKS
    MOON OF THE WEREWOLF BY RONADL KELLY
    THE ABYSS BY STEVE VANCE
    THE MANIPULATOR BY DANA BROOKINS
    SEE NO EVIL BY PATRICIA WALLACE
    THE REVENANT BY HUGH ZACHERY
    ANCIENTS BY R.KARL LARGENT
    BLOOD WORM BY JOHN HALKIN
    STINGER BY ROBERT R. McCAMMON
    THE WOLF’S HOUR BY ROBERT R. McCAMMON
    MYSTERY WALK BY ROBERT R. McCAMMON

    • Wow, thanks for the list! Most of those are new to me.

      I was actually planning to read Incubus. The copy at the store I went to was in really bad shape though. I like the film, flawed as it is.

      What do you think of Peter Straub? I feel like I need to check out some of his work also.

  6. Okay, concerning INCUBUS, yeah, it’s in bad shape. I bought it from ABEBooks way back in the early 2000s and had to start taping it up immediately, ’cause as soon as I started flipping through the book it began to fall apart in my hands. I used that tape used for sealing boxes and patched up the cover and spine.

    I love the flick, but the book is a 180 degrees from that. The main character in the movie, John Cassavettes doctor is only a minor character in the book. The main character in the book is someone that was never used in the movie, and the ending, the TWIST ending in the book is ten times more powerful.

    Also, the novel is more about “biology,” where as in the movie they decided to give the INCUBUS this whole other origin. I won’t expound on exactly what its origin is in the book, but, as I said, it’s more “biological.”

    More “plausuble,” if you will. If you have access to that one first, I recommend going back down to that store and snatching it up before someone else does.

    But, having said all that, I still love the movie. Still got it on DVD, too. Too bad it’s been discontinued for years now.

    As for Straub, never had any desire to read his books. Don’t know why. He just never seemed to appeal to me.

  7. I noticed I misspelled on of the author’s name. MOON OF THE WEREWOLF author should read RONALD KELLY.

  8. Great list, Shawn; I’m adding some to my to-be-read list!

Leave a Reply

