Happy Pig

I never got that into Sparklehorse. I guess one more slow, depressing songwriter was not what I was looking for, as I already had plenty of records by Leonard Cohen, Idaho, Smog, etc. However, I always loved this song, which is a live-in-the-studio mashup of the songs “Happy” and “Pig” from Good Morning Spider. I would say that it’s somewhere on my gigantic list of favorite songs. It sums up the feeling of self destructive desperation that many of us have felt before. The “happy man” refrain is pummeled home by the raging guitars and drums, as if Mark Linkous was trying to block out the nagging voice of doubt in his mind.

“I woke up in a horses’ stomach one foggy morning
his eyes were crazy, as he smashed into the cemetary gates
all I want is to be a happy man”

RIP Mark Linkous.

Leave a Reply

