You Handsome Devil

I know I haven’t posted in a while. So what was so important that I felt compelled to awake from my lethargic slumber after three months and attempt to enlighten the online masses, you ask? Was it anger at the right-wing attempt to sideline health care reform? Disgust over the media zeal surrounding the Tiger Woods scandal?

No, it was exasperation at the fact that James Franco is playing Allen Ginsberg in a new film called Howl.

Now, I have nothing against Franco. He was great in Freaks and Geeks. That episode where he learns to play D&D? Priceless.

But let’s face it. He’s a good-looking guy, better suited to portraying James Dean than Ginsberg. I mean, here is James Franco:

And here is Ginsberg:

A young Allen

What, David Cross wasn’t available?

I mean, this trend of hiring handsome young actors to play average-to-weird looking people has got to stop. I don’t care if you’re Christian Bale or Jared Leto – you are putting some talented, average looking character actor out of work. Stop it! And shame on you, Hollywood casting agents. There are enough Spiderman, Terminator and Glitter Vamp sequels to go around for all the dreamy hunks of Tinseltown. Find the best actor for the role, both in talent and physicality. Am I supposed to be impressed by the “range” of these pretty boy actors? Give me a break.

And while we’re at it, Tim Burton – get off Johnny Depp‘s nuts. No one needs to see that guy play Barnabas Collins.

One Response to “You Handsome Devil”

  1. Allyson Schulze Says:

    I totally agree. As an actor in high school I have been jibbed out of some parts I think I could have done better than the person who played them. Don’t get me wrong, they looked the part, but their acting skills were less than satisfactory. I don’t mean to sound boastful, but its true. I think that the part in question should go to some one who has proved themselves as mature actors who can actually do the part justice. I think Franco could do it, but maybe not the best.

Leave a Reply

