New Year

It has been two months since my last post, which in the “blogosphere” means I have effectively shot this thing like a sick dog and put it out of its misery.

Or so it would seem.

Perhaps I have been quietly simmering, brewing up a shitstorm of insightful reviews and essays which are simply too controversial and brilliant to unleash upon the world until it has caught up with my genius.

Were it only so…

No, in fact I have fuck all to say at the moment. Certain items in the real world have cropped up to prevent me from continuing my slightly acclaimed series of gripping essays on vigilante movies and over the hill shoegaze bands. 2008 ended amid much economic and political turmoil, as you probably know. I landed on both feet, fully employed – at least for the moment. (Although it’s safe to say I would be updating the blog more frequently had I been laid off.)

Riots break out on Wall Street

Riots break out on Wall Street

I was overjoyed that Obama won the election, but now a malaise has set in as I watch him scramble to fix a broken machine, while those responsible for fucking it up whine about having to bail out the same people they gave bad loans to in the first place. Now, the nation quakes in fear as millions of privileged white Americans threaten to throw down their briefcases and riot in the streets.

The new digs

The new digs

My legendary girlfriend and I celebrated the new year and the failing economy the only logical way: by signing a lease on a much nicer, much more expensive apartment. Hey, if we’re gonna go down on this sinking ship, I want to go down in style. I want to be able to watch Los Angeles crumble as I sip brandy on my balcony on a hill overlooking the toiling masses.

Despite our preoccupation with packing, moving, working, yelling, and crying, we have still found time for our first love: getting drunk and watching movies. Several British and Spanish horror films have been viewed, as well as numerous episodes of British comedy shows (IT Crowd, Garth Merenghi’s Darkplace, Little Britain, Mighty Boosh – we even rented Spaced for chrissakes). My brain is such a jumble of pop culture references and surreal set pieces that I’m mentally typing with a dubbed British accent at this very moment.

book_crab

Music-wise, I’ve been ping-ponging back and forth between trendy new stuff (Santogold, TV on the Radio), old stuff (Thin Lizzy), and British goth/glam fusion (The Cure circa 82-86, the stuff Pulp did before they broke in 1993). I’m also disgusted to report that thanks to a few of my “friends” and Rock Band 2, I have started to like the music of No Doubt. Shoot me now.

And just so I can justify clicking on the little check box next to “Comics” on the categories tab, I should mention that I received an awesome Christmas package from my beloved featuring the first two volumes of Creepy magazine reprints. The horror!

creepy_wwrzoq3dlf5brcfeb5yni

So despite not having any new updates for Blanked is Ordered (that is what this blog is called), I have done some writing. I reviewed three nasty, vile movies for From Below, a website apparently devoted to nasty, vile movies (and rightly so). Granted, two of the three were written last year, but I was too ashamed to post a link before now (the ones accredited to “Ryan O” are mine).

Also, my close friend and colleague Mr. Weyls has lept into the fray with his own blog entitled Bad Actor. It is a series of biting observations about daily Chicago life mixed with brutal pop culture eviscerations. Read if you dare!

I’m off to either break down due to the pressure and stress associated with moving into a new apartment in an uncertain economy, or clean the kitchen and make breakfast. Expect more posts in the not so distant future.

6 Responses to “New Year”

  1. You failed to mention that there was a double murder in our new apartment.

  2. Welcome back, Ryan.

    I’m assuming the purpose of Blanked as Ordered is to spur some kind discussion or debate so I will start. I was struck by one paragraph which I would like to comment on:

    “I was overjoyed that Obama won the election, but now a malaise has set in as I watch him scramble to fix a broken machine, while those responsible for fucking it up whine about having to bail out the same people they gave bad loans to in the first place. Now, the nation quakes in fear as millions of privileged white Americans threaten to throw down their briefcases and riot in the streets.”

    It sounds like you are saying that Republicans are the ones who made bad loans to people. While they are not guilt-free, this is a sentiment that gets repeated over and over by even our president. I find it to be such an over-generalization that it misses the complexity of a problem that is cultural and global by nature.

    For years the Clinton Administration and Community Activist Groups (like ACORN with legal representation from a young Barack Obama) sued banks to the tune of billions of dollars for not making enough subprime mortgages to lower income people. Ex-Clinton Administration and current Obama administration officials have also presided over Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac, the biggest players there are in the mortgage market. They had good intentions at heart, but sometimes the road to hell is paved with good intentions.

    Republicans on the other hand believe that the best innovations come from the private sector, free market system, and that the government should butt out. They have valid points, too, but could it be everyone was wrong? What about the people who lied about their income on their mortgage applications? What is the point in repeating the same old platitudes and blaming the same old scapegoats?

    I personally think that all good ideas need to be on the table, including conservative ones. Making bad loans with reckless abandon is hardly inherently conservative. It seems to me to be the exact opposite. From what I understand, conservatives object to bailing out Wall Street AND the giant stimulus package. They claimed to have their own stimulus package that would create twice the jobs for half the cost. That sounds appealing to me. Not that the bill that got passed doesn’t have some worthy causes, but shouldn’t we at least hear out both sides before getting any further into uncharted waters?

    Anyways. That’s my two cents….

    Steve

  3. This is not a political blog, and I don’t claim to be an economist. My point was intended to be humorous, although it was fueled in part by frustration at what I see as hypocrisy on the part of a large chunk of the so-called “conservative” contingent. You are absolutely correct that all good ideas need to be on the table, but a bunch pf yuppies whining on Wall Street is not constructive, it is sad and hilarious at the same time. As is Republican leaders bitching about a government handout while their constituents are out of work and going hungry.

    I agree with this point – “Making bad loans with reckless abandon is hardly inherently conservative. It seems to me to be the exact opposite.” Maybe conservatives weren’t behind the loan fiasco, but they were certainly behind the government for the past ten years. Bush was handed a surplus, he raped the economy – how was that being conservative? Why are conservatives complaining about this stimulus, but not the one Bush handed out last year? Why didn’t more conservatives come out against the costly Iraq war?

  4. veronica centeno Says:

    HA, HA. You know you love the NO DOUBT. 🙂 Keep this up, it’s pretty awesome.

  5. I happen to love the fact that this came up on possibly related posts: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. It’s amazing how spot on they are about your interests…
    It’s nice to know you’re turning around and seeing the light – No Doubt fans appreciate it.
    And please tell me the double murder mentioned above is true. Do you own a Ouija board?!

  6. Well, I am out of the closet about my Harry Potter obsession. And I have “no doubt” that someone died in that house. A Ouija board would make a nice housewarming gift…

Leave a Reply

